ASTRI Announces New Board Appointments

[Hong Kong, 26 October 2010] Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited (ASTRI) has announced the latest composition of its Board of Directors, which includes three new appointees. They are Prof. Andrew Chan Chi-fai, Mr George Hongchoy Kwok-lung, and Ms Agnes Nardi Kar-wai. Together with other re-appointed Directors, they will be serving on a two-year term from 21 October 2010 to 20 October 2012.

Prof. Chan is the Professor of the Department of Marketing and the Director of Executive MBA Program and BBA-JD Program of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He is the Chairman of the Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board and a Member of the Council of Hong Kong Institute of Education.

Mr Hongchoy is the Chief Executive Officer of the Link Management Limited. He is a Member (Rep.) of the Advisory Committee on Human Resources Development in the Financial Services Sector, and a Member of the Board of Directors of the Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited.

Ms Nardi is the Managing Director of Ancube Consulting Limited. She was previously a Member of the Hong Kong Logistics Development Council.

Dr Patrick Wang Shui-chung, Chairman of ASTRI’s Board of Directors, welcomed the three new members to the Board. He said, “We are delighted that these three accomplished individuals have joined ASTRI’s Board of Directors. No doubt, these appointments will further strengthen the relationship between ASTRI, the industry and academia and enhance its efforts in the commercialization of technologies developed by ASTRI.”

Retiring from ASTRI’s Board of Directors are Dr Jacqueline Lui Chiu-tong, Prof. Vincent Y. Shen, and Mr Ben Wong Chung-mat.

Dr Wang thanked the departing members for their tremendous contributions while serving on the board.

Effective from 21 October 2010, the composition of ASTRI’s full Board of Directors is as follows:

Dr Patrick Wang Shui-chung

Mr Anthony Au Wai-hung
Mr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu
Prof. Andrew Chan Chi-fai
Prof. Philip Chan Ching-ho
Prof. Chew Weng-cho
Mr George Hongchoy Kwok-lung
Dr Patrick Lam See-pong
Mr Henry Leung Kwong-han
Mr Humphrey Leung Kwong-wai
Ms Agnes Nardi Kar-wai
Mr Victor Ng Kwok-ho
Mr Richard Sun Po-yuen
Mr Peter Wong King-fai
Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
(In alphabetical order according to surname)

Official Members
Miss Elizabeth Tse Man-yee, Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology)
Miss Janet W.C. Wong, Commissioner for Innovation and Technology