ASTRI Announces New Board Appointments

[Hong Kong, 29 February 2012] Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited (ASTRI) has announced the appointments of three new members to its Board of Directors. They are Mr Cheng Cheuk-wing, Professor Ching Pak-chung and Dr Franklin Tong Fuk-kay. The appointments take effect from today (1 March 2012) for a period of two years until 28 February 2014.

Mr Cheng is founder and Chief Executive Officer of AppoTech Ltd, which was established in 2003 in Hong Kong with the aim of nurturing local engineers. He has over 20 years of IC design and management experience in Silicon Valley, USA, and his contribution to the technology industry has been widely recognised. He is the recipient of “Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards – Most Promising Entrepreneur Award” in 2009, “Excellence in Achievement of World Chinese Youth Entrepreneurs Award” in 2010 and the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year China in 2011.

Professor Ching is currently Pro-Vice-Chancellor / Vice-President and Professor of Electronic Engineering of The Chinese University of Hong Kong. He has been very active in professional and public services, having served in different capacities at the Hong Kong Institution of Engineers, as Council Member of the Institution of Electrical Engineers and as Chairman of the Hong Kong Section of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He is also Chairman of the Hong Kong Council for Testing and Certification and Member of the Steering Committee on Innovation and Technology.

Dr Tong currently serves as Vice President of SAE Magnetics (HK) Ltd and Adjunct Professor of Department of Information Engineering of The Chinese University of Hong Kong. In 2001, he joined ASTRI as the Vice President of the Photonics Group, which became a spin-off company in 2004. The company was later acquired by SAE Magnetics, a wholly-owned subsidiary of TDK Corporation. Dr Tong now heads the Optical Communications Component Group of SAE, being responsible for all business of the passives, optical subassembly and transceiver lines.

Dr Patrick Wang Shui-chung, Chairman of ASTRI’s Board of Directors, welcomed the three new members to the Board. He said, “We are pleased that the ASTRI Board has been joined by these three distinguished individuals from the industry and academia. I am confident that ASTRI will benefit immensely from their wealth of experiences and expertise, and together we will guide ASTRI to its next level of accomplishment.”

Effective from 1 March 2012, the composition of ASTRI’s Board of Directors is as follows:

Dr Patrick Wang Shui-chung

Mr Anthony Au Wai-hung
Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu
Prof. Andrew Chan Chi-fai
Prof. Philip Chan Ching-ho
Mr Cheng Cheuk-wing
Prof. Chew Weng-cho
Prof. Ching Pak-chung
Mr George Hongchoy Kwok-lung
Dr Patrick Lam See-pong
Mr Henry Leung Kwong-han
Dr Humphrey Leung Kwong-wai
Ms Agnes Nardi Kar-wai
Mr Victor Ng Kwok-ho
Mr Richard Sun Po-yuen
Dr Franklin Tong Fuk-kay
Mr Peter Wong King-fai
Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
(In alphabetical order according to surname)

Official Members
Miss Elizabeth Tse Man-yee, Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology)
Miss Janet W.C. Wong, Commissioner for Innovation and Technology