突破性5G核心网络技术

应科院与科技巨头合作推出5G核心网络技术
应科院努力当下,关注未来,在科研领域中保持良好信誉。我们时刻考虑未来的需求、技术的和数码发展上的趋势,以至应用研究的突破。一直以来,应科院着重发展和开拓以香港为本的创新技术,为了实现这个目标,我们会与世界各地不同的企业,建立业界合作伙伴关系。

今年,应科院在商用和高性能的5G核心网络领域上实现了重要的里程碑。应科院与科技巨头英特尔公司 (Intel) 和美国的信息科技厂商美超微电脑公司 (Supermicro)合作,在5G核心网络性能取得重大突破,展示超过1.3Tbps的数据吞吐量。

Roundtrip Latency (μs)

相较去年于高性能 2U 架构服务器上所展示的 200 Gbps吞吐量,今年的5G核心网络性能表现显著地提高。在2019年上海世界移动通信大会(MWC)上,应科院早已展示了与合作伙伴开发的5G 独立组网 (SA) 核心网,以及为车联网技术而开发的人工智能边缘计算系统。

这个成果得来不易。应科院英特尔多年来的团队合作,在推动和优化5G技术的研发过程中,多番克服技术上的困难,才能一起取得如此成就。应科院网络软件总监苗家豪先生表示,仅在过去两三年,我们才开始专注于5G 独立组网核心网的研发,结果取得非凡的成绩。

今年5G核心网络性能突破1 Tbps,将提供更高的吞吐量、更高的速度和更低的时延,从而更有效地支持5G无线基础设施,以及需要更高网络容量和数据传输率的多元化业务。更多优点例如高灵活性及可延展至更多应用方案,可满足不同的客户需求。

应科院与英特尔在发展5G网络技术的初期阶段曾遇到过樽颈位,但团队一起找到解决方案。通过使用应科院 5G 核心网数据面 (UPF) 提供高网络吞吐量,配合英特尔的DDP (Dynamic Device Personalisation) 技术功能分配数据包,最后能有效地扩展到不同的中央处理器核心。

苗家豪先生在英特尔的一个聊天广播节目中提到,随着网络卡的不断优化,团队希望将重点放在5G 核心网的两种’极端配置’上,并藉着解决方案探究如何缩小或扩展容量,以研发出

良好且出色的性能

应科院与英特尔的协作将持续下去,继续研发5G网络所带来的效益,以满足未来需求,加速拓展市场的步伐。协作将有助提供不同的技术解决方案,推动功能性发展,包括硬件和软件的设施与结构、网络控制面功能等。

目前,应科院的5G 核心网络所支持的网络功能包括:接入和移动管理功能 (AMF)策略控制功能 (PCR)会话管理功能 (SMF)非结构化数据存储功能 (UDSF) 网络切片选择功能 (NSSF)

1.3Tbps 5G UPF 核心网展示

运用万物联网连系不同的配置,应用潜力令人振奋,其中一个很好的例子就是应科院在智慧出行领域所开展的先进工作。透过应用和整合万物联网的各种配置,能有效发挥5G网络在各方面的最大效能,并从而创造更多新产品。例如利用5G网络高宽带、大数据处理率和高速度的特性,可更快速地传输大量传感数据,有助道路用户侦测和预计路面状况,避免即将发生的危险。

这些创新科技及研发将引起广泛关注。随着对5G的需求持续增长,5G核心网络的可扩展性、灵活性和广泛的发展潜力,将引领香港乃至世界走向未来。

因此,应科院和英特尔的协作项目不会间断,一起继续研发以突破5G功能的极限,照亮香港成为创新中心,造福人类。

Revolutionary 5G
core performance

The handshake delivering ground-breaking 5G core performance
ASTRI maintains a reputation for having one eye on the future even as it works to improve the present. It is constantly anticipating coming needs, technological and digital trends, as well as the next breakthrough in applied research. And while ASTRI’s focus is always on the advancement of Hong Kong-based technologies and innovation, to achieve this, its collaborations and eco-system partnerships go well beyond the city’s borders.

This year, ASTRI achieved a significant milestone in the field of commercial, high-performance 5G core networks. Together with technology giant Intel Corporation and United States-based IT firm Supermicro, ASTRI demonstrated a groundbreaking traffic volume of 1.3 Tbps throughput performance on a 5G core network. 

Roundtrip Latency (μs)

This marks a considerable increase from the 200 Gbps throughput demonstrated just last year on the high-performing 2U architecture servers. At the Mobile World Congress (MWC) Shanghai 2019, the companies showcased the 5G standalone (SA) core network and edge artificial intelligence for vehicle-to-everything C-V2X technology.

But it didn’t come easy. The achievement was the result of years of teamwork between ASTRI and Intel, and we overcome many challenges in research and development efforts to drive forward and optimise 5G technology. According to ASTRI’s Networking Software Director Alex Mui, it was only within the last two to three years that the companies began focusing on 5G SA core network - and the results have been extraordinary.

This year’s 1 Tbps breakthrough will be able to deliver higher throughput, higher speeds with lower latency to better support 5G wireless infrastructure and diversified services with higher traffic volume and data rates. Better yet, it’s scalable and able to cater to flexible and varying performance scenarios as well as customer needs.

After initially hitting a bottleneck in terms of scaling out, by working together, ASTRI and Intel found a solution. By using ASTRI’s 5G core User Plane Function (UPF) which delivers high network throughput to leverage Intel’s Dynamic Device Personalisation (DDP) capability for packet distribution, ASTRI and Intel were able to efficiently scale out to different CPU cores.

As Alex said during Intel’s Chit Chat podcast series, together with enhancements to the network cards, they looked to focus on the two “extreme configurations” in the 5G core produced a solution that would allow them to scale down or scale up and deliver a

good and amazing performance

Collaborative R&D between ASTRI and Intel has continued to develop the benefits of 5G to meet the future demands and accelerate the market. This has included pushing the capabilities of its hardware and software infrastructure, architecture and control plane network functions to accommodate different deployment scenarios.

Currently, ASTRI’s 5G core network supports network functions such as AMF (Access and Mobility Management Function), PCR (Policy Control Function), SMF (Session Management Function), UDSF (Unstructured Data Storage Function) and NSSF (Network Slice Selection Function).

1.3Tbps 5G UPF Core Network Demonstration

More exciting still is the potential for different deployment configurations on the Internet of Things (IoT), a great example of which is the advanced work being carried out by ASTRI in the field of smart mobility. The application of deployment integration is being used to create products that utilise various aspects of the 5G network such as high bandwidth, large data rates and speeds to transport huge volumes of sensory data that can help road users detect and anticipate oncoming threats.

Understandably, all these have generated much interest. The 5G core network’s scalability, flexibility and wide-ranging potential can lead Hong Kong, and the world, straight to the future as the demand for 5G grows even more. Yet as amazing as all this is, the ASTRI and Intel story does not end there.

Together, they will continue to push the limits of 5G capabilities, shine a light on Hong Kong’s innovation, and even save lives.