ASTRI Announces New Board Appointments

[Hong Kong, 12 November 2012] Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited (ASTRI) announces the new composition of its Board of Directors, which includes seven new appointees. They are:

‧ Mr Christopher William Britton, Partner, Deacons;
‧ Prof. Roland Chin Tai-hong, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost, The University of Hong Kong;
‧ Mr Humphrey Choi Chor-ching, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers;
‧ Dr Tiger Lin Zhenhui, Chairman, China Mobile Hong Kong Company Limited;
‧ Mr Sunny Lee Wai-kwong, Executive Director, Information Technology, Hong Kong Jockey Club;
‧ Mr Denis Tse Tik-yang, Head of Asia – Private Investments, Lockheed Martin Investment Management Company; and
‧ Mr Wong Ming-yam, Director, Top Brilliant Technology Limited.

Together with other re-appointed Directors, they will be serving on a two-year term until 20 October 2014.

Dr Patrick Wang Shui-chung, Chairman of ASTRI’s Board of Directors, welcomed the new members to the Board. He said, “We are privileged to have these seven distinguished professionals joining the ASTRI Board. Their expertise and enthusiasm will no doubt further carry the Institute to new heights.”

“I also wish to express our heartfelt appreciation to all Directors, including the seven who just retired from the Board for their contribution and guidance,” he added.

The retired Directors are Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu, Prof. Chew Weng-cho, Dr Patrick Lam See-pong, Mr Henry Leung Kwong-han, Dr Humphrey Leung Kwong-wai, Mr Richard Sun Po-yuen, and Mr Peter Wong King-fai.

As from 7 November 2012, the composition of ASTRI’s Board of Directors is as follows:

Dr Patrick Wang Shui-chung, SBS, JP

Mr Anthony Au Wai-hung, BBS
Mr Christopher William Britton
Prof. Andrew Chan Chi-fai, SBS, JP
Prof. Philip Chan Ching-ho
Mr Cheng Cheuk-wing
Prof. Roland Chin Tai-hong, BBS, JP
Prof. Ching Pak-chung, BBS
Mr Humphrey Choi Chor-ching, JP
Mr George Hongchoy Kwok-lung
Mr Sunny Lee Wai-kwong, JP
Dr Tiger Lin Zhenhui
Ms Agnes Nardi Kar-wai
Mr Victor Ng Kwok-ho
Dr Franklin Tong Fuk-kay
Mr Denis Tse Tik-yang
Mr Luther Wong Lok-tak
Mr Wong Ming-yam, BBS, JP
(In alphabetical order according to surname)

Official Members
Miss Susie Ho Shuk-yee, JP, Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology)
Miss Janet Wong Wing-chen, JP, Commissioner for Innovation and Technology