用於固态照明大功率GaN发光二极体的蓝宝石剥离新方法

用於固态照明大功率GaN发光二极体的蓝宝石剥离新方法

  • 用於固态照明大功率GaN发光二极体的蓝宝石剥离新方法
    ART/029CP
    20080201 - 20090930
    13201

    吴恩柏博士
    • Deliverable 1 - GaN wafers with sapphire removed and replaced with a new metal substrate: Wafer Size: Full Wafer (2-inch diameter) Sapphire Removal Percentage: 100% Wafer Number: 10 wafers • Deliverable 2 - LED prototypes: No. of packaged LEDs: 30 Chip Size: 1 mm x 1mm Wall plug efficiency improvement: 15% (over flip-chip LEDs) Drive Current: 350, 700, 1500 mA Forward Voltage at 350 mA: < 3.7 V Leakage Current at -5 V: < 5 uA Reliability: light output power drop < 15% after 1000-hour operation at 350 mA at 50C
    香港微晶先进封装技术有限公司 世纪晶源 香港城市大学 晶元光电股份有限公司 正越企业 中国砂轮企业股份有限公司 纳峰科技有限公司 国立交通大学 罗门哈斯电子材料公司 香港中文大学 香港科技大学 香港大学 捷斯奥企业有限公司

    这个研究项目是开发一种新型的大功率GaN发光二极体。传统的镭射剥离方法对於大多数公司来说有专利的限制,因此这个项目的核心技术是从晶片上剥离蓝宝石,并且为大功率发光二极体晶片製造一种新型的金属衬底。 GaN发光二极体能够产生各种颜色的光:绿光(G), 蓝光(B), 紫光,紫外光和白光。目前GaN发光二极体是采用蓝宝石作为衬底。蓝宝石是绝缘体而且不具有良好的热传导性,从而限制了大功率发光二极体的发展。这个瓶颈可以在项目中通过采用一种新型的衬底材料得以解决。 我们将和香港的大学和工业界,以及广大的中华地区紧密合作。现在在中国大陆和香港都没有大规模生产大功率白色发光二极体的公司。这个项目中的技术将被转移到工业界来提升他们的技术水平,减低成本以及增加大功率发光二极体的产量。 儘管目前香港应用科技研究院的LED项目主要在发光二极体的封装和应用上有强大的实力,这个项目将会有助於在香港应用科技研究院建立一个强大的发光二极体晶片设计和製造团队,从而提高香港应用科技研究院的发光二极体研发的整体实力。

A Novel Method of Removing Sapphire for Solid-state Lighting Power GaN LEDs

A Novel Method of Removing Sapphire for Solid-state Lighting Power GaN LEDs

  • A Novel Method of Removing Sapphire for Solid-state Lighting Power GaN LEDs
    ART/029CP
    20080201 - 20090930
    13201

    Dr Enboa Wu
    • Deliverable 1 - GaN wafers with sapphire removed and replaced with a new metal substrate: Wafer Size: Full Wafer (2-inch diameter) Sapphire Removal Percentage: 100% Wafer Number: 10 wafers • Deliverable 2 - LED prototypes: No. of packaged LEDs: 30 Chip Size: 1 mm x 1mm Wall plug efficiency improvement: 15% (over flip-chip LEDs) Drive Current: 350, 700, 1500 mA Forward Voltage at 350 mA: < 3.7 V Leakage Current at -5 V: < 5 uA Reliability: light output power drop < 15% after 1000-hour operation at 350 mA at 50C
    Advanced Packaging Technology Ltd. Century Epitech City University of Hong Kong Epistar Corporation Jeng Yueh Enterprise Corp Kinik Company Nanofilm Technologies International Pte. Ltd Nathional Chiao Tung University Rohm and Haas Electronic Materials The Chinese University of Hong Kong The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology The University of Hong Kong Well Expediting Enterprise Corp.

    The R&D project aims to develop a novel technology for the fabrication of power GaN LED chips, different from current laser liftoff method that causes patent concerns for most companies. It will develop a key technology to remove the sapphire substrate from the wafer and fabricate power LED chips with new metal substrate. GaN LEDs generate light in different colors: green (G), blue (B), purple/violet, ultraviolet, and white. Current GaN LEDs use sapphire as the substrate. Sapphire is an insulator and not a good thermal conductor, fundamentally limiting the power capability of such LEDs. This bottleneck will be eliminated by replacing sapphire with a new substrate in this proposed project. We will work closely with Hong Kong universities and industry, as well as other companies in greater China area. There is no company in China (including Hong Kong) that is in mass production of power white LED chips. The technology to be developed in this project will be transferred to the industry to upgrade their technologies and reduce the cost and increase the throughput for power LEDs. While ASTRI’s LED Program is strong in LED packaging and applications, this project will help ASTRI to establish a strong LED chip design and fabrication team, enhancing ASTRI’s overall LED technology strength.