Appointment of New Directors to ASTRI Board

[Hong Kong, 21 October 2021] The Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (ASTRI) today announced the appointment of two new Directors and re-appointment of six Directors to the ASTRI Board for the period from 21 October 2021 to 20 October 2023.

The new appointees are:

  • Prof Christopher Chao Yu-hang
    Vice President (Research and Innovation), The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
    Chair Professor of Thermal and Environmental Engineering
    Department of Building Environment and Energy Engineering and Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui, BBS, JP
    Managing Director, RESOLUTIONS HR & Business Consultancy Co. Ltd.

Ir Sunny Lee Wai-kwong, JP is re-appointed as the Chairman of the ASTRI Board, and the other re-appointees are:

  • Prof Chan Chun-kwong
  • Mr Stephen Chau Kam-kun
  • Mr Stephen Ho Wai-chung
  • Mr Peter Ng Hon-yu
  • Ir Prof Joseph Ng Kee-yin

Chairman of ASTRI’s Board of Directors Ir Sunny Lee Wai-kwong said, “I am honoured to be re-appointed as ASTRI’s Chairman to lead ASTRI and to contribute to the ecosystem of innovation and technology in Hong Kong. I hereby extend my warmest welcome to the two newly appointed members to the Board of Directors. I look forward to working with them closely to bring ASTRI to the next level.”

On behalf of the Board, Ir Lee also expressed heartfelt gratitude to the two retiring Directors, namely Mr Ha Yung-kuen, BBS and Mr Andy Liu An-ting whose term of office has expired after 20 October 2021, for their support for and contributions to ASTRI in the past.

As from 21 October 2021, the composition of ASTRI’s Board of Directors is as follows:

Ir Sunny Lee Wai-kwong, JP

Prof Chan Chun-kwong
Prof Christopher Chao Yu-hang
Mr Stephen Chau Kam-kun
Mr Charles Chow Sai-keung
Mr Steve Chuang Tzu-hsiung
Mr Stephen Ho Wai-chung
Prof Lam Tak-wah
Mr Edmund Lee Chi-wai
Prof Sabrina Lin Man-yee
Mr Theodore Ma Heng
Mr Peter Ng Hon-yu
Ir Prof Joseph Ng Kee-yin
Dr Alfred Ng Man-cheuk
Ir Dr Samson Tai Kin-hon
Mr Anthony Tong Tat-hay
Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui, BBS, JP
Ms Ada Wong Yin-man
(In alphabetical order according to surname)

Official Members
Ms Annie Choi Suk-han, JP, Permanent Secretary for Innovation and Technology
Ms Rebecca Pun Ting-ting, JP, Commissioner for Innovation and Technology


– END –



The Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (ASTRI) was founded by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in 2000 with the mission of enhancing Hong Kong’s competitiveness in technology-based industries through applied research. ASTRI’s core R&D competence in various areas is grouped under five Technology Divisions: Artificial Intelligence and Big Data Analytics; Communications; Cybersecurity, Cryptography and Trusted Technologies; Integrated Circuits and Systems; and IoT and Sensors. It is applied across five cores areas which are Smart City, Financial Technologies, Intelligent Manufacturing, Digital Health, and Application Specific Integrated Circuits.

Over the years, ASTRI has nurtured a pool of research, I&T talents and received numerous international awards for its pioneering innovations as well as outstanding business and community contributions. To date, ASTRI has transferred over 750 technologies to the industries and been granted more than 900 patents in the Mainland, the US, and other countries.

For further information, please visit


Media Enquiries:

Ms Choi Yiu
Manager, Public Affairs and Corporate Communications
Tel: +852 3406 2506
Email: [email protected]