智能室内和室外地理信息系统

智能室内和室外地理信息系统

  • 物联网(IoT)是移动互联网之后互联网的下一个演变。虽然蓝牙低功耗BLE(或下一代通信技术,如Lora / NB-IoT)和GPS是构建物联网应用和系统的理想技术,但集成的室内和室外GIS系统对于实现物联网的潜力至关重要。这将对社会有重大影响,并带来下一波创新和经济活动。

    GIS系统的一个主要挑战是在大规模部署时的可扩展性。系统软件将需要应对由数百万设备和移动用户触发的巨大网络流量。Message Queue技术可用于解决云在大规模加载时可扩展性的问题。此外,它还可以用于增加IoT数据的网络带宽效率。

    为了使GIS系统在物联网环境中尽量发挥作用,以无缝的方式整合室内和室外信息至为重要。这些信息来自各种不同来源:如室外信息来自GPS或A-GPS,而室内信息通常来自BLE,Wi-Fi和磁测量。

    这系统使用GIS提供无缝室内和室外地图服务。将BLE安装在室内就可估计室内定位,然后投影到与室外定位中使用的相同地理空间。以这种方式,跨越室内和室外空间的跟踪就可以是无缝了。此外,这系统还具有其他第三方大数据分析平台(如Hadoop)的接口。

    这系统能够管理多站点地理位置、大量用户和物联网设备、以及实时接近和物联网传感器数据。系统中也齐备了相关安全和权限控制。

    最后,这系统将在「九龙东」部署试验,以展示已发展的技术。而可扩展的室内和室外GIS领域的技术也将转移到相关政府部门。

Smart Indoor and Outdoor Geographic Information System

Smart Indoor and Outdoor Geographic Information System

  • The Internet of Things (IoT) is the next evolution of the internet after the mobile internet. While BLE (or next generation of communication technologies such as Lora/NB-IoT) and GPS are well-suited technology to build up IoT applications and systems, integrated indoor and outdoor GIS systems are critical to realize the potential of IoT. This will impact the operation of society in a large scale paving the next wave of innovations and economic activities.

    A major challenge of GIS systems is scalability during large scale deployment. The software would need to accommodate tremendous amount of networking traffic triggered by millions of devices and mobile users. Message queue technology is used to address the scalability issue of the cloud for massive loading. In addition, it could also be used to increase the network bandwidth efficiency for IoT data.

    In order for GIS systems to be useful in the IoT context, this system consolidate both indoor and outdoor information in a seamless presentation. These information come from various different sources; outdoor information come from GPS or A-GPS, and indoor information usually come from BLE, Wi-Fi, and magnetic measurements. Also, the system has an interface to big data analytic platforms such as Hadoop.

    The system is capable to manage multi-site geo-locations, massive users and IoT devices, and also real time proximity and IoT sensors data. The associated security and access right control of the system have also been developed.

    Finally, trials will be deployed in Kowloon East to demonstrate the developed technologies. Know-how and technology in the area of scalable indoor and outdoor GIS will also be transferred to related government departments.