高密度互连基板技术

高密度互连基板技术

  • 应用于下一代高密度互连基板的微孔电镀添加剂

    高密度互连基板中的微孔在系统集成中有着很多优势,例如性能改进和产品微型化。在铜电沉积制造高密度基板中的微孔时, 电镀添加剂的使用最为重要。现时只有少数电子材料公司能提供先进新型的添加剂并且获利率极高。随着现今先进电子产品微型化和多功能化的趋势,对下一代微孔(<75微米)制造提出了更高的电镀技术要求,包括更薄的表面沉积层和更小的凹坑,因此市场上极需要新型电镀添加剂。

    基于机理性电镀仿真软件的研发,应科院开发了一套快速筛选电镀添加剂的方法,用来缩短材料开发时间和减少开发成本。通过此方法,应科院成功研发了一系列具有精密分子分布的新型电镀抑制剂,以及具有更小质荷比及均衡功能组的新型电镀整平剂,电镀表现更胜于现有的商用添加剂,以满足下一代微孔制造的更高要求。

    特点

    • 微孔中凹坑深度不大于5微米; 铜厚度薄至10微米
    • 高T / P性能的通孔填充
    • 优良的附着力、均匀性和可靠性
    采用应科院开发的添加剂对于50及30微米微孔的填充表现

     

    应用

    • 应用于先进电子设备的高密度、多层、超薄互连基板(例如智能电话、穿戴式电子产品等)
    • 应用于高I/O和高速芯片的微间距IC基板(包括微处理器、存储芯片等)
    ec -pack-7
    应科院开发可应用于高密度基板之添加剂

     

    应用于下一代高密度互连基板的蚀刻添加剂

    近年来,高密度互连基板日益精细的线宽、图形要求,使得半加成法(SAP)和改良式半加成法(MSAP) 取代传统的减成法成为主流电路制造技术。然而,SAP和MSAP技术仍面对很大的挑战及有很大的提升空间。其中两个挑战性的步骤便是MSAP技术中在完成电路及移除铜籽晶层时采用的差分蚀刻工艺。

    应科院研发了一种解决上述问题的创新方法,即利用新型蚀刻添加剂来克服精细电路中,蚀刻狭窄及高纵横比沟道时的严重底切(undercut)问题。新型的护岸剂(banking agent)可提高沟道侧壁高的蚀刻速率。加速剂亦将被加入在沟道蚀刻中用以加快蚀刻速度,以及与护岸剂一起发挥作用减小底切现象。另外,应科院的最新微通孔及微盲孔的电沉积配方可迎合市场上多个电沉积方案的需求,连同蚀刻添加剂的研制及相关工艺可广泛应用于高密度互连相关应用。

     

    特点

    • 可用于精细电路蚀刻包含双氧水及硫酸制的闪存蚀刻剂
    • 适用于SAP / MSAP工艺
    • 线位/虚位可以达到15微米/15微米
    • 高蚀刻因子,没有底切问题
    • 短蚀刻时间,高蚀刻速率
    • 良好的表面形状和均匀性

    应用

    应用于先进电子设备的高密度、多层、超薄互连基板(智能电话、穿戴式电子产品等)
    • 应用于高I/O和高速芯片的微间距IC基板(微处理器、存储芯片等)

     

    通过使用应科院的护岸剂后的蚀刻结果

     

    良好的均匀性和表面粗糙度

High Density Interconnect Substrate Technology

High Density Interconnect Substrate Technology

  • Microvia Electroplating Additives for Next-generation High-density-interconnect Substrate

    Microvia in high-density-interconnect (HDI) substrate for system integration offers a number of advantages, such as performance improvement and product miniaturisation. Electroplating additives are essential for copper electrodeposition fabrication of microvias in HDI substrate. The technology-intensive additives can only be provided by a few electronic material companies and at a very high profit margin. As the trend of miniaturisation and increased functionality of advanced electronics continues, higher technical requirements including thinner surface deposition and smaller dimple are introduced for the next-generation microvia (<75µm) fabrication, and hence new electroplating additives are in high market demand.

    Guided by our mechanism-based electroplating simulation software, ASTRI has developed a methodology for fast screening of electroplating additive candidates to shorten the material development cycle time and reduce the development cost. Based on this methodology, a series of new electroplating suppressors with tuned molecular weight distribution and new electroplating levelers with lower mass-to-charge ratio and balanced functional groups have been developed to meet the above-mentioned requirements for microvia fabrication and to achieve better electroplating performances than that of existing commercial additives.

    Features

    • Dimple size less than 5µm; Cu thickness as thin as 10µm
    • High T/P performance of through hole filling
    • Excellent adhesion, uniformity and reliability
    Deposition performance of ASTRI additives for microvias of Ф50µm & Ф30µm

     

     

    Applications

    • High density, multi-layer, ultra-thin HDI PCB for advanced electronic devices (for examples, smartphones, wearable devices, etc.)
    • Fine pitch IC substrate for high I/O and high speed chips (including micro-processors, memory chips, etc.)
    ec-pack-7
    ASTRI’s additives for high density substrate

    Etching additives for Next-generation High-density-interconnect Substrate

    The demand for finer line/space pattern formation of high density interconnect (HDI) substrates has replaced conventional subtractive circuit formation with semi-additive process (SAP) and modified semi-additive process (MSAP) technologies as the mainstream circuit production technologies. These advanced technologies however still face many challenges and have room for improvement. Two of the challenges for MSAP technologies are copper electrodeposition for signal line formation, blind microvia and through hole filling, and the flash etching which is to finalize the circuit formation by removing the copper seed layer through differential etching.

    ASTRI has developed its novel etching additives to overcome the severe undercut issue due to narrower and higher aspect-ratio etch channels for fine circuitry. The newly designed banking agent can enhance efficiency of etching inhibition at channel sidewall. An accelerator is employed at the channel bottom to speed up the etching rate and working hand in hand with the banking agent to minimize undercut. In addition, a new electrodeposition recipe has been developed for both blind microvia and through hole filling to meet the market demand on one electrodeposition solution/cell for multi-tasks. The development of the etching additives and the recipes can be widely used in high-density interconnect applications.

    Features

    • H2O2, H2SO4 based flash etchant for fine circuit etching
    • Suitable for SAP/MSAP process
    • L/S can reach 15µm/15µm
    • High etch factor, no undercut
    • Short etch time, high etch rate
    • Good surface morphology and trace uniformity

    Applications

    • High density, multi-layer, ultra-thin HDI PCB for advanced electronic devices (smartphones, wearable devices, etc.)
    • Fine pitch IC substrate for high I/O and high speed chips (micro processors, memory chips, etc.)

     

    Rectangular shape of lines after etching by using ASTRI’s banking agent

     

    Good uniformity and surface roughness