智慧水務物聯網系統

現時香港有超過300萬個水錶,而香港水務署 (水務署) 卻僅有170名抄錶員,部門一直沿用人手做檢查和記錄用水量的方法,逐漸變得挑戰重重。目前,水務署的員工親身進行檢查和記錄,對於耗水量大的非家庭客戶,每月檢查一次,至於其餘客戶,則每四個月檢查一次。
應科院正在為香港研發一種智能水錶通訊標準,以適應本地環境的限制,就如手提電話一樣,它可以在任何有LoRa網絡 (一種無線電通訊技術) 覆蓋到的地方使用。

新標準技術在未來可以確保不同的智能水錶供應商,在水務署的供應合約中採用一致的數據格式和通訊規格協議;並加快從智能水錶收集數據的速度 (可來自多個供應商),新技術可應用在未來十年新發展區中約430,000戶家庭中。隨著水務署及一般家庭皆可以容易獲取有關自動漏水檢測和用水模式識別的資料,智能水錶將可在十年間節省水用量約168萬立方米,為我們環境帶來重大及正面的影響力。

水務署高級電機工程師黃明光先生指:「未來香港將成為智慧城市,大量節約用水必定為我們的經濟及環境帶來莫大效益。」應科院對於這項科技所釋放的巨大潛力,亦感到十分高興。

水錶實驗 (圖左),
LoRa 水錶讀表器 (圖右)

Smart Water

With more than 3 million water meters deployed around the city and only about 170 meter-readers working in Hong Kong’s Water Supplies Department (WSD) – the traditional method of physically checking and recording water consumption is challenging. Currently, these employees physically check and record water consumption, once a month for non-domestic customers with large water consumption and once every four months for the remaining customers.
ASTRI is developing a smart water metering communication standard for Hong Kong, adapting to the constraints of the local environment, that just like mobile phones, can be used anywhere where there is LoRa network coverage.

The new standard could ensure a consistent data format and communication protocol to be adopted by different smart meter suppliers in WSD’s future supply contracts; and could facilitate data collection from these smart meters (which could be from different suppliers) to be deployed to some 430,000 households in the new development areas of the city over the next decade. With automatic leak detection and consumption pattern identification readily available to WSD as well as the households, smart water meters are expected to have a considerable and positive impact on the environment, saving about 1.68 million cubic metres of water in 10 years due to change in consumers’ water using habits.

WSD Senior Electrical Engineer, Mr M. K. Wong, said that such significant water saving will bring financial and environmental benefits to Hong Kong as a smart city of the future. ASTRI, meanwhile, is excited about this technology’s potential to make a huge splash.

Water Meter Experiment (left),
LoRa Water Meter Interface Unit (right)