主席及行政总裁的话

李惠光工程师,太平绅士
董事局主席

应科院 已经成长,我们更具信心发挥潜能以面对紧接下来的挑战和机遇

20年,对一家机构而言,是重要的里程碑。应科院虽然年轻,但我们已经成长,将更具信心发挥潜能,以面对紧接下来的挑战和机遇。强烈的使命感为我们增强信心和源动力,透过创新科技为香港的经济和社会创造价值。

任何事情都得来不易。20年来,应科院秉持追求卓越努力不懈的精神,让我们在核心科研的领域中,包括5G 通讯、金融科技、智能制造、健康技术和半导体技术,赢得了领导地位。因此,我深信应科院能在未来十年,继续推动创新科技,以具影响力的科研技术,令香港成为智慧城市,推进国际领导地位。我亦可预见,我们的科研成果将被世界各地的企业应用,工厂里有着应科院研发的机械人和自动驾驶技术;消费者使用我们设计的金融科技处理日常银行事务,或牌照更换以至房产购置等,都可以在应科院开发的安全平台上处理,更多例子将指日可待。

香港特区政府正积极投资于创科基础建设和人才发展,推动令香港发展成为国际创新中心。作为创新技术生态系统中的重要一员,应科院将竭尽全力创造持久的价值。创新技术,不单影响消费趋势,同时亦为商业模式带来冲击,我们势将透过创新科技改写未来,而应科院的名字将成为“进步”的代名词。梦想看似高远,但一点一滴便可成就可能。

周宪本先生
行政总裁

以实现竞争力为最终目标,那么,技术研发就是重要策略

香港,作为一个世界都市,全因竞争力而能屹立不倒。特区政府于2000年成立香港应用科技研究院 (应科院) 的目的,正是要透过应用科研来进一步增强香港在科技行业中的领导地位。

以实现竞争力为最终目标,那么,技术研发就是我们的重要策略。应科院与众不同之处就在于“应用”一词。我们有能力应用尖端科技去解决商业问题,为业界增值,这正是我们成功的关键。应科院获取的专利超过850项,还正在不断增加,这些专利数量和获颁发的奖项及殊荣,正充分展示我们团队的创造力和奉献精神。

应科院不能单凭自己获取成功,我们亦积极与业界、政府部门和学术机构等伙伴协作。透过把技术商品化,我们的研发成果得以“落地”,转移到各大企业和政府机构,为用户提供实用性产品和服务。我们一直与大学和企业紧密合作,为香港培养新一代的工程师、研究人员和数据专家等。

应科院 — 以20年的“脑”力,成为举足轻重的科研公司,我们引以为傲。

刊登日期:2020年4月30日

Leaders’ Message

Ir Sunny Lee Wai-kwong, JP
Chairman

ASTRI has come of age, sure of our ability and potential, and ready to pounce on the next challenge and opportunity

20 years is a significant milestone for an organisation. Though young, ASTRI has come of age, sure of our ability and potential, and ready to pounce on the next challenge and opportunity. Such confidence and drive are born out of a strong sense of mission to create value to the economy and community of Hong Kong through innovation and technology.

Nothing comes easy. It is two decades of relentless pursuit for excellence that has earned ASTRI its leadership in 5G communications, FinTech, Intelligent Manufacturing, Health Tech, and semiconductors. From this vantage point, I can see ASTRI continue to advance the technology frontiers with impactful innovations over the next decade, and becoming a major technology enabler in the Smart City called Hong Kong. I can see connected devices around the world running on ASTRI technologies, manufactured in factories operating with ASTRI robotics and AGVs; consumers doing daily banking, renewing licenses and buying properties on secure platforms developed by ASTRI, and more.

The HKSAR Government is investing heavily in infrastructure and talent development to make Hong Kong an international innovation hub. ASTRI, as a key player in the innovation and technology ecosystem, will do our utmost to create lasting value. Through innovative technologies that will disrupt not only consumer trends but also business models, we will be a game changer, and the ASTRI name will be synonymous with advancement. Lofty dreams they seem, but every bit is possible.

Mr Hugh Chow
Chief Executive Officer

Enabling competitiveness is the end goal; technology research is the strategy

Hong Kong as a small global city survives on competitiveness. When the HKSAR Government set up ASTRI in 2000, the reason for its existence was to strengthen Hong Kong’s competitiveness in technology-based industries through applied research.

Enabling competitiveness is the end goal; technology research is the strategy. What sets ASTRI apart, however, is the word “applied”. It is our ability to apply cutting-edge technology to solving business problems and adding value that has been key to our success. The number of patents – more than 850 and counting – and industry awards speak volumes of the ingenuity and dedication of our people.

ASTRI did not attain success on our own. The collaboration with partners from industry, government and academia is indispensable. Through commercialisation, fruits of our applied research are transferred to enterprises and government agencies that provide products and services to end users. Universities as well as enterprises work closely with us to bring up the next generation of engineers, researchers and data scientists. 20 years of brain work. One unique organisation. A source of pride.